Madrid Protocol Trademarks

Intellectual Property Law Firm Representing Clients in Patent, Trademark, Copyright, and Trade Secret Matters


Michael is one of the best lawyers I have ever worked with.

- Joseph V.

Group discussing filing for a foreign patent

Madrid Protocol

The Madrid Protocol is a treaty between member countries that allows for a streamlined process to file international registration of trademarks. It was established in 1891 and functions under the Madrid Agreement (1891), and the Madrid Protocol (1989). It is administered by the International Bureau of the World Intellectual Property Organization (“WIPO”) located in Geneva, Switzerland.

The Madrid system allows the trademark owner to apply for trademark protection in several countries by filing one application directly with a national or regional trademark office of the trademark holder’s choosing.

European Union (EM) (EU) Member Countries to the Madrid Protocol

A designation of the European Union (country code EM) covers all the countries that are Member States of the European Union. The following countries are members to the European Union:

  1. Austria (AT)
  2. Benelux (consisting of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) (BX)
  3. Bulgaria (BG)
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus (CY)
  6. Czech Republic (CZ)
  7. Denmark (DK)
  8. Estonia (EE)
  9. Germany (DE)
  10. Spain (ES)
  11. Finland (FI)
  12. France (FR)
  13. United Kingdom (GB)
  14. Greece (GR)
  15. Hungary (HU)
  16. Ireland (IE)
  17. Italy (IT)
  18. Lithuania (LT)
  19. Latvia (LV)
  20. Malta (MT)
  21. Poland (PL)
  22. Portugal (PT)
  23. Romania (RO)
  24. Sweden (SE)
  25. Slovenia (SI)
  26. Slovakia (SK)

Click Here for an updated list.


Trademarks are a form of intellectual property rights for elements that identify a product or service’s source.


Patents help those who have developed an invention and seek to protect it.